Oranges and rain in Seville

I was there late in the year with Paola for a long 3-day weekend visit.  September 2007, if memory serves me well.  Rather unusually for the year, it rained continuously for two days.  A freak event, we were told.  First time in twenty years, some said thirty.  On the second day, inspite of the wonderful hotel we’d been booked into, I grew bored of the bar and we wandered out to see Seville cathedral in the drenching rain.  For footwear, I had only my pink suede boots from Kenzo that I’d bought in a John Lewis mega-sale.  We’d expected a touch of the Fall coolness to come our way, not the heavy rains. I regretted my unusual need to pack ultra-light and not include a second pair of comfy shoes.  My lovely pull-on suede, pink, slouch boots were soaked in sacrifice to the gods of rain.  I had to throw them out after sloshing around in them and then drying them out.  I wore them wet and dried out until they were completely ruined by the time I returned to London. But in turn, I got to see Seville cathedral and bits of the city.

exterior-of-seville-cathedral-spain
Exterior of Seville cathedral

Seville cathedral was full of dark catholic corners and their incense infused melancholia.  The interiors were steeped in the black of the medieval ages.  I got very excited when I discovered Christopher Columbus’ tomb in one corner of the cathedral.  The rain finally stopped on day 3 and we walked around, less afraid of a sudden rainfall coming upon us to catch us out.  I’d loved to have seen the bullring.  Or taken a boat across – 3 hours  – to Tangiers or Marrakech (slightly longer).

seville-oranges

And yes, there were laranjas (oranges) growing on the trees!  Created a stunning backdrop with the Mediterranean light in the background.  I recall the food being great, though I don’t remember what we ate and right about now, I really wish I did!

Leave a Reply

